Goals and 365 Days of Running

So for anyone that doesn’t know, I am currently 144 days into a charity challenge. I am running 5k a day for 365 days for Crohn’s and Colitis UK. Yes, I am mad. Yes, it’s a lot of running. But who makes a challenge easy for themselves?

Hitting my goal weight had always been my aim for 2 years. Then, when I did hit my goal, I felt lost. I hit my goal, but I still wanted to be challenged. I wanted to hit the next goal, but what was it?

You can make hundreds of goals, but I can guarantee that if you try to do them all at once, you will fail. You will put so much pressure on yourself that you will think it is easier to just give up. DONT! Just take them one at a time. Hit one goal, move to the next. Simple! They don’t have to be big goals, just achievable. My first goal was to loose 3 stone. The next? to run 1km without stopping. Then to run a half marathon. I know, It escalated quickly. But without these goals to keep us moving and challenge our boundaries, it’s very easy to slip into old habits again.

I always like to aim for something in life. For me, It’s mainly fitness related as that’s what I like to do.  But you will always have other goals you want to work towards. Promotion at work, learn that new skill or even go skydiving. My point is the more you can if you try. Things will go wrong. The path to your goal won’t be smooth. There will be a lot of hills in the road. But I promise you, the view at the top is great. And it’s such a better feeling than how you feel right now at the bottom of the hill.

So my tip for anyone who is feeling lost right now is to always look forward. What do you want to achieve, and how hard can you work to get there? Because you on a mission? Nothing can stop you.

L x

Leave a Reply

