The Forgotten Element of Dieting

A lot of trying to lose weight is focused around food and exercise. But for me, there is an additional part of weight loss that people forget. WATER! Our body needs water to digest, to circulate blood, to keep your brain healthy and more importantly to function.

People who have known me a while will agree that I use to be terrible at drinking enough water. At best, I would have maybe 1 or 2 glasses a day! Β When the recommended amount is 8 glasses, that’s really bad!

To be honest with you all, I only noticed my lack of consumption when my fiance called me out on it. I knew that myΒ energy levels were suffering, but didn’t think it was because I wasnt properly hydrating myself. The fact was, I really wasn’t helping my weight loss at all. I wasn’t even helping my body to just survive! It was only last year that I changed my perception about water. When I hit a plateau with my weight loss, I really pushed forward with drinking at least 2 litres a day. I took Heidi Powell’s advice with the 10 gulp rule and soon enough I was not only feeling more energetic but losing weight again. Now I can’t go a day without at least 3 litres, and recently I’ve been drinking 4 litres a day!

I know, water hasn’t got the most flavour in the world. But I promise you, your body will thank you for it. Especially in those tough workouts! Just google the positive effects of water, and you’ll see all the good it can do for you.

L x

Leave a Reply

